Nederlands Holocaust in Europe Auschwitz


The Auschwitz camp complex consisted of three main camps: Auschwitz I, Auschwitz-Birkenau (also called Auschwitz II), and Auschwitz-Monowitz (Auschwitz III), plus 39 satellite labour camps. Auschwitz I was the Stammlager (main camp) and from the start had a very large intake capacity (10,000 prisoners). Auschwitz-Birkenau, the larger extermination camp, was actually situated in the village of Brzezinka, three kilometres away. Auschwitz-Monowitz was the labour camp where companies such as IG Farben and Krupp Stahl set up their plants. More than 1.5 million people, mostly Jews, were deported to Auschwitz. Following a selection process, more than 1.1 million were gassed or shot immediately after arrival. More than 200,000 people died of sickness or starvation or were sent to the gas chambers after a short stay at the camp. Of more than 150,000 prisoners who survived Auschwitz, thousands died yet in other concentration camps, or were killed or succumbed to death during the death marches.  On 27 January 1945, Auschwitz was liberated by the Soviet army. At that time, there were around 7,500 to 8,000 very sick and underfed prisoners in the camp complex.

24_region 24_map3ausw 24_map4
  1. An overview map of Auschwitz: Auschwitz I, Auschwitz II (Birkenau), Auschwitz III (Monowitz)
  2. Division of Auschwitz I
  3. Division of Auschwitz-Birkenau
mass murder
perpetrators and victims
after 1945
guest book
early history
auschwitz i
auschwitz-birkenau ii
auschwitz-monowitz iii
death march